Which Agreement Limited Naval Power On The Great Lakes

The Rush Bagot Treaty was a treaty between the United States and Great Britain that restricted naval armament from the Great Lakes and Lake Champlain after the War of 1812. April 18, 1818 ratified by the United States Senate and confirmed by Canada after Confederation in 1867. The treaty provided for the great demilitarization of lakes along the international border, where many British naval facilities and fortresses remained. The treaty provided that the United States and British North America could each maintain a military vessel (no more than 100 tons of cargo) and a cannon (no more than 18 pounds) on Lake Ontario and Lake Champlain. The other Great Lakes allowed the United States and Great Britain to prevent North America from maintaining two “similarly dependent” military vessels on armed waters of “similar violence.” The treaty and the separate treaty of 1818 laid the groundwork for a demilitarized border between the United States and British North America. [2] Mr. Bagot met informally with Foreign Affairs Minister James Monroe and finally reached an agreement with his successor, Current Minister Richard Rush. The agreement limited military navigation on the Great Lakes to one or two ships per country on each sea. The U.S. Senate ratified the agreement on April 28, 1818. The British government felt that an exchange of diplomatic letters between Rush and Bagot was sufficient to make the agreement effective. The origins of the Rush Bagot Treaty can be attributed to correspondence between US Secretary of State Richard Rush and British Minister in Washington Sir Charles Bagot, which was exchanged and signed on 27 and 28 April 1817.

After the terms of Rush and Bagot`s notes were agreed, the Rush Bagot agreement was informally recognized by both countries. On April 16, 1818, it was introduced to the U.S. Senate and formally ratified on April 16, 1818. The treaty eventually resulted in the Washington Treaty in 1871, which concluded disarmament. In 1946, the United States and Canada agreed, through an exchange of diplomatic notes, that the deployment of naval ships for training purposes was authorized, provided that each government was informed in advance. [3] The Rush Bagot Pact was an agreement between the United States and Great Britain to eliminate their fleets from the Great Lakes, with the exception of small patrol vessels. The 1818 convention established the border between the territory of Missouri in the United States and British North America (later Canada) at the forty-ninth parallel. Both agreements reflected the easing of diplomatic tensions that led to the War of 1812 and marked the beginning of Anglo-American cooperation. A plaque from the Ontario Heritage Trust in Kingston, in Ontario, recognizes the Rush Bagot Agreement (44-13`48`N 76-27`59`W / 44.229894 N 76.466292 N 76.466292-W / 44.29894; -76.4662922).

A commemorative plaque is also located on the former site of the British envoy in Washington, D.C., D.C. (38-54`13.N 77-3`8.4`W / 38.903806 N 77.05233-W / 38.903806; -77.052333), where the agreement was negotiated. A monument is also located on the site of the Old Fort Niagara (43-15`N 79-03`49`W / 43.263347 N 79.063719 W / 43.263347; -79.063719), reliefs of Rush and Bagot, as well as the words of the treaty. [10] United States